close
I Died for Beauty | Zookal Textbooks | Zookal Textbooks
  • Author(s) Marjorie Senechal
  • SubtitleA Biography of Dorothy Wrinch
  • Edition
  • Published31st January 2013
  • PublisherOxford University Press USA
  • ISBN9780199732593

A Biography of Dorothy Wrinch

In the vein of A Beautiful Mind, The Man Who Loved Only Numbers, and Rosalind Franklin: The Dark Lady of DNA, this volume tells the poignant story of the brilliant, colorful, controversial mathematician named Dorothy Wrinch. Drawing on her own personal and professional relationship with Wrinch and archives in the United States, Canada, and England, Marjorie Senechal explores the life and work of this provocative, scintillating
mind. Senechal portrays a woman who was learned, restless, imperious, exacting, critical, witty, and kind. A young disciple of Bertrand Russell while at Cambridge, the first women to receive a doctor of science degree
from Oxford University, Wrinch's contributions to mathematical physics, philosophy, probability theory, genetics, protein structure, and crystallography were anything but inconsequential. But Wrinch, a complicated and ultimately tragic figure, is remembered today for her much publicized feud with Linus Pauling over the molecular architecture of proteins. Pauling ultimately won that bitter battle. Yet, Senechal reminds us, some of the giants of mid-century science--including Niels Bohr, Irving
Langmuir, D'Arcy Thompson, Harold Urey, and David Harker--took Wrinch's side in the feud. What accounts for her vast if now-forgotten influence? What did these renowned thinkers, in such different
fields, hope her model might explain? Senechal presents a sympathetic portrait of the life and work of a luminous but tragically flawed character. At the same time, she illuminates the subtler prejudices Wrinch faced as a feisty woman, profound culture clashes between scientific disciplines, ever-changing notions of symmetry and pattern in science, and the puzzling roles of beauty and truth.

I Died for Beauty

Format
Print on Demand

Leaves 10-15 days after printing

$67.94
or 4 payments of $16.98 with Zookal accepts Afterpay
Add Zookal Study FREE trial and save a further 20% 

NEW PRICE

$54.35 + free shipping

(20% off - save $13.59)

Zookal Study Free trial

14-day FREE trial. $14.95/mo after. Cancel anytime.

*Discount will apply at checkout.

 See terms and conditions

You will get a further 20% off for this item ($54.35 after discount) because you have added Zookal Study Premium Free Trial to your bag.

For this discount to apply, you will need to complete checkout with the Zookal Study Premium Free Trial in your bag.

-
+
  • Author(s) Marjorie Senechal
  • SubtitleA Biography of Dorothy Wrinch
  • Edition
  • Published31st January 2013
  • PublisherOxford University Press USA
  • ISBN9780199732593

A Biography of Dorothy Wrinch

In the vein of A Beautiful Mind, The Man Who Loved Only Numbers, and Rosalind Franklin: The Dark Lady of DNA, this volume tells the poignant story of the brilliant, colorful, controversial mathematician named Dorothy Wrinch. Drawing on her own personal and professional relationship with Wrinch and archives in the United States, Canada, and England, Marjorie Senechal explores the life and work of this provocative, scintillating
mind. Senechal portrays a woman who was learned, restless, imperious, exacting, critical, witty, and kind. A young disciple of Bertrand Russell while at Cambridge, the first women to receive a doctor of science degree
from Oxford University, Wrinch's contributions to mathematical physics, philosophy, probability theory, genetics, protein structure, and crystallography were anything but inconsequential. But Wrinch, a complicated and ultimately tragic figure, is remembered today for her much publicized feud with Linus Pauling over the molecular architecture of proteins. Pauling ultimately won that bitter battle. Yet, Senechal reminds us, some of the giants of mid-century science--including Niels Bohr, Irving
Langmuir, D'Arcy Thompson, Harold Urey, and David Harker--took Wrinch's side in the feud. What accounts for her vast if now-forgotten influence? What did these renowned thinkers, in such different
fields, hope her model might explain? Senechal presents a sympathetic portrait of the life and work of a luminous but tragically flawed character. At the same time, she illuminates the subtler prejudices Wrinch faced as a feisty woman, profound culture clashes between scientific disciplines, ever-changing notions of symmetry and pattern in science, and the puzzling roles of beauty and truth.
translation missing: en.general.search.loading